bargainnoob.blogg.se

Jojo the high road itunes
Jojo the high road itunes











We wanted to try and come up with a constructive way to satisfy what my fans wanted and to also get the creatives, myself included, the publishing money. Even though I’d gotten out of that record deal, I was still feeling the effects of how things were mishandled. My manager Gita and I were talking about how this was something we’d seen in comments a lot on Twitter and Instagram and just how it was not right. Whose idea was it to release re-recorded versions of the album, and when did the process begin? But my fans let me know and it was just frustrating to see their frustrations and to know that something they should easily have access to wasn’t available to them. That’s how I realized it was a thing, too! I didn’t know because it’s not like I’m monitoring to make sure my stuff is still up, that’d be weird. It definitely was, because I remember there being a huge uproar among your fanbase on social media when the albums were first pulled. I think it might’ve been for a few months, though. Nothing was ever really said to me, it just suddenly wasn’t on Spotify or iTunes anymore. To listen to my first two albums, people have to find it on YouTube or find physical copies. So the long and short of it is that there was just no one inside fighting for you?Įxactly. That was really weird for me, especially because I put out my first album when I was 13 in 2004. I wanted my music to be out there because if people were just discovering me for the first time, it looked like I started my career in 2016 with Mad Love.

jojo the high road itunes

As far as I know, nobody’s music from that label is available on streaming, which includes Aaliyah‘s last two albums. I wish I had a better reason for the first two albums not being available, but I think the simplest answer is that my former label just didn’t make a deal with the streaming platforms. Could you tell me in your words what exactly went down and why your first two albums were unavailable? There have been plenty of reports over the years about the dispute between you and your former label.

jojo the high road itunes

After The High Road, Jojo wouldn’t release another studio album for 10 years until Mad Love in 2016, after successfully severing ties with her old label. As is too often the case when an artist disappears for no apparent reason, it was eventually revealed that Jojo was embroiled in a nasty years-long battle with her label, Blackground Records, that culminated with her suing them in 2013 to get out of her contract after endless conflicts, including her alleging the label forced her to lose weight by withholding the release of her music.

jojo the high road itunes

#JOJO THE HIGH ROAD ITUNES SERIES#

In fact, JoJo had continued to release music independently through a series of mixtapes, YouTube covers, and demos that her cult-like fanbase devoured but flew mostly under the mainstream radar. After her debut album JoJo went multi-platinum in 2004 when she was only 13, she followed it up with The High Road in 2006 and another smash hit in the single “Too Little, Too Late,” cementing her status as the pop laureate of teenage heartache.Īnd then, suddenly, JoJo fell off the radar.īut it certainly wasn’t for lack of trying. If anyone thought she would be another casualty in an oversaturated pop market (RIP, Willa Ford), JoJo managed to prove the naysayers wrong time and time again. JoJo, with her soulful vocals and wide-eyed appeal, seemed poised for pop superstardom from the moment she released her #1 hit “Leave (Get Out)” and caused every teenage girl (plus me) to dump our imaginary no-good boyfriends. Even in the early ‘00s, when the next Britney Spears was seemingly popping up by the dozen, there was always something special about the pop singer.











Jojo the high road itunes